top of page

Rhinoceros: Ryon's story 3

Friday

Frank says I need to do proper sentences, more complex ones. Never satisfied, is he? In that way, he reminds me of Scopey. ‘Extend that sentence, add more detail'. No thanks. He says something about the staccato effect, 'it's wearing' he said. 'But powerful stuff', he said, Blah blah blah. That's how it is with school. You do something OK, and it's 'good, now do it better'. Never satisfied with the first draft. They never say 'yeah, that'll do'. They go on and on. Frank said that I’ve to imagine a reader, and then tell the story to that reader. I told him that’s exactly what I’m doing. He says the reader wants a narrative. I said, Yeah yeah whatever, we did all that with Mr Scope. He said, there you go. We need to learn all about Mr Scope.

Frank then went on a bit, stuff about writing being like hooking a fish, and the big juicy maggot is the detail, and then he went on about curries and how the spices in the curry are the details in the sentences. Make your mind up, Frank. Fishing, or curry? Frank said stick with fishing. Patience, waiting for the big catch and all that. He thinks the big catch is Mr Scope. Could be.

But I don’t like fishing, so I’m not writing any more today.

 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page